I had lots of fun this weekend. It’s just too bad that I never had the chance to get to Ireland instead of doing a second tour of Wales. It was a long drive from London to North Wales, but that just meant time to get to know my fellow travellers and have a few cat-naps on the way. We arrived at our hostel in Caernarfon late, after 1am. I got up around 8:30, went and saw the local castle before we headed out. It’s where the ceremonies for the princes of Wales are held. Unfortunately I only had 45 minutes to spend there before we had to move on, so I only got to see about half of it. It was a huge castle though, very easy to get lost in. First stop was Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch, the longest place-name in the world (no surprise there!) Then we went to Snowdonia National Park, where some of the group climbed Mount Snowdon. It’s over 1000m high, and took them 6 hours to do it. I chose not to attempt that one at this point, I had trouble with the much smaller mountains on other trips. Instead I visited another castle, had a nice sit-down lunch, went for a long stroll on the edge of the lake, and then back to the castle to sit and read for awhile. Nice and relaxing for my holiday πŸ™‚ Then those of us who didn’t climb the mountain met up with those who did, exchanged stories, and then went out for a barbeque supper by the lake.Β  Then back to the hostel for the night.

Sunday we went on a little trip on an old steam-engine train in Porthmadog. Then on to Portmeirion, a little fake Italian village in Wales for lunch. Then to a giant beach for a quick swim in the Atlantic. Last stop was for ice cream in Gellert (a village named after a dog). Passed a giant pipe-line that featured in a James Bond film, and then the long ride back to London.

I realize that my posts are getting shorter and farther apart. It’s getting closer to the end, and harder to keep up with blogging. I suspect that I won’t have the patience when I get home after my 7-week trip to blog about it all. I may just post the itinerary and leave it at that. Besides, soon after I’ll be home and you can hear the good stories in person. The price is set at taking me out for supper πŸ˜‰

